You can edit and delete categories - your posts will not be deleted. 

  • If you edit the category, the blog posts associated with that category will be auto-updated to reflect the changes.

  • If you delete a category, the blog posts associated with that category will be moved to the "uncategorized" category (or whichever category you have set to be the default category in your settings)

To delete a single category:

  • In the dashboard, go to Posts > Categories.

  • Hover over the category you want to delete, and click the "delete" link

You can also delete multiple categories at the same time:

  • In the dashboard, go to Posts > Categories.

  • Put a check in the box to the left of the Category you want to delete.

  • Towards the top of the category page is a pulldown labeled Bulk Actions.

  • Change it to say Delete.

  • Then click the button next to it that says Apply.

  • Your category will now be deleted.

Need additional help with WordPress?

Did this answer your question?